Last Site Update
Last Update:
09-04-2018 08:54
Random Gallery Image

Who's Online....
We have 56 guests online
New User Registration
In order to register on this site, you must first submit the passphrase below.

How many DAYS are in February during a LEAP YEAR?
Forum Latest
World Hits
Home >> About MTSBC

PostHeaderIcon About MTSBC

 The Model Thames Sailing Barge Championships

   This series of events was started in about 1989 under the patronage of the Scale Sail Association and is now incorporated under the Thames Sailing Barge modelling interests of AMBO.

    It has developed from an original single class series to four classes of Model Barge – three at 1/24th scale and one at approx 1/36th scale (maximum 30” hull length).

   The classes at 1/24th scale (1/2” – 1 ft) are Bowsprit, Staysail and Coastal.

   (It is hoped that a race for 1/18th scale model barges will be held at the Broomfield (North London) barge match in August 2013)

   The venues for the Barge Matches cover the South/South East England (at present) - Surrey, Sussex, Kent and Essex. Approximately 13 events are held between April and September with a Champion of Champions final in early September.

    A Championship Handbook is published annually giving the classes, rules and venues information for those Sailing Barge Modellers wishing to take part.

    AMBO invites ALL owners of model Sailing Barges to take part  – all we ask is that you come along and have a good day in the company of fellow Thames Sailing Barge modellers.

    (A race fee may be charged to cover the issue of the Handbook, rules booklet and cost of the trophies).

 The contact for information concerning the Model Thames Sailing Barge Championships is: 

Richard Chesney                   01784 450527

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

or 49 South Avenue, Thorpe Lea, EGHAM, Surrey TW20 8HQ


Venues & Dates

To Be Confirmed once finalised

See the venues section for site acces and water details. 

MTSBC events are held with the co-operation of the Host Club and the Association of Model Barge Owners and most start at around 10.00, variations to this can be found in the venues information which can be found later in this Handbook and any revision or further information will be forwarded when known.


General Notes 

   At many of the venues the Barge Races are only one part of a Scale Sailing Regatta with other Open Class Races or free sailing forming part of the days programme. Fees may be payable to the Host Club and there will be a Barge Race fee to cover the costs incurred in providing trophies etc at the Final. 

   Hopefully time on the water will be possible prior to the first race to allow the boats and wind conditions to be checked out and the course will be at the discretion of the Host Club, the lake/pond shape and the Race Co-ordinator / OOD but should ideally have at least four turning marks plus the start/finish line.

   It is hoped that at least two races for each class can be run at each of the venues shown above. If necessary - due to time, numbers or weather - all or any of the classes will race together. The start may be combined or class start times staggered. 

   Given sufficient Lady Skippers, specific Lady’s only races will be run during the day. 


Points System:- 

   The points awarded for each race will be the same for all racing classes:-                       

   The race result position relates to the points awarded ie.

                         1st place                       1 point

                         3rd place                       3 points

                         6th place  and low          6 points 

   The event winner is the skipper / barge combination with the lowest points score, and will be awaded a 'gold' medal.



Qualifying for the Championship Final:-


   We have gone back (nearly) to Tony Lenchs’ original scoring system such that to qualify for the finals, a barge / skipper combination must attend a minimum of four venues and score less than 16 points from the best race result from each of the best four venues attended.


   The Finals will be a separate scoring venue in its own right


   Remember: A change of boat during the year starts a new Barge / Skipper combination for finals points scoring purposes.




 The Trophys 

Fijipsy Jack                            Current holder – Richard Chesney

(Bowsprit Trophy)                            sb MISS MOLLY

            The trophy is presented to the winner of the Bowsprit Championships and is a replica of a Teal (a type of Duck) made of Kauri - a wood found in New Zealand - presented by Mark Steele, a modeller from down under and Editor of 'WINDLING WORLD' the Newsletter of things wind powered in the Southern Hemisphere (although he reports on events world wide)

Staysail Shield                       Current holder – Colin Barrett

                                                            sb LADY DAWN

This Shield is presented (appropriately enough) to the winner in the Championship Staysail Class.  

30” (Little'uns) Trophy         Current holder – Richard Chesney

                                                            sb MOLLY J

            This is an elegant slim Cup type trophy presented to the Championship HFM (or similar size) barge. 

 TW Coastal Barge Shield      Not awarded in 2012

            A shield trophy for the winner of the Coastal Barge class. Presented to the Championships by Tony Williams. 

Lady’s Championship Trophy        Not awarded in 2012

                       but is held by the 2010 Holder – Jo Chesney - the only Lady competing in the 2011 finals sailing sb JO PIPER 

            A Glass Bowl trophy presented by Alan Millman. 

John Nicholls Concours        WILL EVERARD owned and sailed by Andy Walker

   A new trophy (A Half Model of a Barge Hull) in memory of John Nicholls presented to the owner of the model – voted for by those attending the finals – as the best presented model at the event.

Tony Lench 'Olympic Spirit' Award - presented to the skipper who throughout the year has shown enthusiasm, and enjoyment in the racing and company of fellow skippers despite the odds and lack of race success. I fact the spirit of Tony Lench.

                                                     Awarded in 2012 to Peter Simmonds (who in the spirit of Tony Williams couldn't find his way into Mote Park....)





Host Club Contacts 

AMBO  Maldon & Brightlingsea events                              

Alan Millman          01702 338975

85 Tower Court, Westcliff Parade, WESTCLIFF ON SEA, Essex SS07QH


Broomfield MSS                              

David Greygoose         020 8804 5160

97 St. Edmunds Road, EDMONTON, London N9 7PS


Chantry MC                                     

Colin Barrett                01634 256682 

6 Drayton Close, HIGH HALSTOW, Kent ME3 8DW


Cygnets MBC Ltd

Peter Clayton 


 Herne Bay Herons                            

Max Cockett                01227 366832

3 Herne Drive, HERNE BAY, Kent CT6 7SJ


Hove MYC                                        

Ray Baxter                     01444 453579

138 Franklands Village, HAYWARDS HEATH, Sussex RH16  3RE


Phoenix MMC

Hans van Leeuwen      01372 810428 

168 Lower Green Road, ESHER, Surrey KT10 8HA


SWAMBC (Weymouth)                  

Barry Stevens               01749 343017 

2 Hawthorn Crescent, SHEPTON MALLETT, Somerset BA4 5XR


Southwater Dabblers

Alan Woodroffe           01903 264387

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Maldon & Blackwater MBC

Peter Mortimer          01376 341076

46 Beardsley Drive, CHELMSFORD, ESSEX CM1 6GQ




Last Updated (Thursday, 14 February 2013 21:51)